I Made Art (or #38 in the #100in500)

If you have been following along, you know that I am plugging away at my “do 100 fun/important/just ’cause things” in my deadline of 500 days. Number 48 on that #100in500 list is to create at least 30 blog posts talking about completing items on this list. If you count the first post about the list (which I will), this will be post #3. Still a lonnnnng way to go, but here it is!

NUMBER 38:   Paint an abstract painting

AND HERE SHE BLOWS:

art

 

Please allow me to explain. I have been a fan and follower of Illustrator, Artist, Blogger, etc Lisa Congdon for many years. She always amazes and inspires, but lately she has been doing a ton of abstract paintings. They are really amazing. I have been thinking to myself lately, “Self? Wouldn’t it be fun to put paint on a canvas and create something?” But here’s the thing: I’m not a painter. I know amazing artist and painters – and I am just not one of them. At least I didn’t actually get a formal education in fine art. But I put it on the #100in500 list anyway, hoping to inspire myself.

 

Then, I came across this:

Screen shot 2014-07-07 at 4.11.59 PM

 

 

Then, I found a blank canvas at our condo garage sale for $2. The universe – and my list, were trying to tell me something.

I pondered on an image, a thought, that inspired me. I came across this amazing piece, I pinned it, and I couldn’t stop thinking about it. It was the white space and the reflection that really spoke to me. So I ordered some silver leaf and stuff that Amazon  recommended I might need with it. I’ve never used silver leaf, and have no idea what made me think of it – but there you have it:

Screen shot 2014-07-07 at 4.21.55 PM

 

I painted the canvas with my favorite interior white, that I just happen to most always have around: Ben Moore’s decorators white. Then made a half circle maker with a ruler (to center), tack (on the back), piece of tape, string, and chalk:

Screen shot 2014-07-07 at 4.25.51 PM

 

Then I painted the circle with some silver paint I had leftover from the failed ‘stainless steal’ backsplash. (I was on a budget!)

Screen shot 2014-07-07 at 4.27.45 PM

 

Then I used the ‘glue’ that I got from Amazon and painted over the silver part, waited for about 30 minutes until it was just very tacky, and then my son and I went to town on a windy Chicago day sticking super thin silver leaf all over that bad boy. Until it looked like this:

 

Screen shot 2014-07-07 at 4.31.26 PM

 

SO there you have it! Post #3 complete! I kind of love it in all of it’s reflective glory. I AM an art-teast!

Screen shot 2014-07-07 at 4.34.01 PM

 

Leave a Reply

