Blogging Advent Calendar 2012

The last few years, I have really enjoyed blogging my Advent calendar. I loved the words that served as inspiration last year. I have also loved coming up with a fun event or treat to give myself each day in the past. This year, I thought I would blend a little bit of everything together.

This exercise has been great for helping to understand what the season of Advent means to me. To my mind, among other things, it’s meant as a time to think about our own personal and spiritual journey. It is a time for anticipation and hope – but also expectation and longing.

Also this year, instead of just this digital calendar, I am also going to make a physical version for my family and myself. This goes with my overall 2012 goal of living more of my life offline. Along those lines, I will probably not blog about any of this – but if you want to see some of these things in action, your welcome to follow me on Instragram!

Each of the following words and thoughts will be included in little bags (I bought these), which will each have a number on them. Along with some sweet treats and trinkets, each of those bags will contain a message. The bags will then be used to decorate our tree. Everyday of advent, we will start deconstructing the tree by taking down a bag and finding out what our day’s thought/treat/song/project/adventure will be.

Here is a peek inside the bags:

SATURDAY 12/1
Project:
Buy and decorate a real Christmas tree with the Advent bags.

SUNDAY 12/2
Adventure: Today is a special treat – an opera for kids!

MONDAY 12/3
Treat: Homemade Hot Chocolate with Peppermint Sticks.

TUESDAY 12/4
Thought: “Whenever you are confronted with an opponent. Conquer him with love.” ― Mahatma Gandhi

WEDNESDAY 12/5
Project: Make Christmas crafts with branches we collect.

THURSDAY 12/6
Listen:  John Lennon, Imagine
“Imagine there’s no countries
It isn’t hard to do
Nothing to kill or die for
And no religion too
Imagine all the people
Living life in peace
You may say that I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will be as one”

FRIDAY 12/7
Adventure: Find a new restaurant in a unexplored neighborhood and have dinner there. How about the best holiday decorated tavern in the city, Butch McGuire’s Tavern & Grill

SATURDAY 12/8
Treat: Holiday potluck dinner. (We’re going southern this year and using recipes from the incomparable Paula Deen! Done a bit on the healthy-side if possible.)

SUNDAY 12/9
Thought: “Therefore they thought it good for hear a play And frame your mind to mirth and merriment, Which bars a thousand harms and lengthens life.” ― William Shakespeare

MONDAY 12/10 
Project: Work on and send holiday cards for our friends and family

TUESDAY 12/11 
Listen: Louis Armstrong, What A Wonderful World

I see trees of green,
red roses too.
I see them bloom,
for me and you.
And I think to myself,
what a wonderful world.

I see skies of blue,
And clouds of white.
The bright blessed day,
The dark sacred night.
And I think to myself,
What a wonderful world.

The colors of the rainbow,
So pretty in the sky.
Are also on the faces,
Of people going by,
I see friends shaking hands.
Saying, “How do you do?”
They’re really saying,
“I love you”.

I hear babies cry,
I watch them grow,
They’ll learn much more,
Than I’ll ever know.
And I think to myself,
What a wonderful world.

Yes, I think to myself,
What a wonderful world.

Oh yeah.

WEDNESDAY 12/12 
Treat: Birthday dinner for our friend Teddy who turns 4!

THURSDAY 12/13
Thought: “I’m writing this in part to tell you that if you ever wonder what you’ve done in your life, and everyone does wonder sooner or later, you have been God’s grace to me, a miracle, something more than a miracle.” ― Marilynne Robinson, Gilead

FRIDAY 12/14
Treat: Go to our local independent bookstore, Women & Children First, to pick out a new book.

SATURDAY 12/15
Adventure:
Another very special treat: the Circus!

SUNDAY 12/16
Project:
Make a Feather Boa wreath

MONDAY 12/17
Thought:
 “Among those whom I like or admire, I can find no common denominator, but among those whom I love, I can; all of them make me laugh.” ― W.H. Auden

TUESDAY 12/18
Listen: Rod Stewart, Have I Told You Lately

Have I told you lately that I love you
Have I told you there’s no one else above you
Fill my heart with gladness
Take away all my sadness
Ease my troubles that’s what you do

For the morning sun in all it’s glory
Greets the day with hope and comfort too
You fill my life with laughter
And somehow you make it better
Ease my troubles that’s what you do
There’s a love that’s divine
And it’s yours and it’s mine like the sun
And at the end of the day
We should give thanks and pray
To the one, to the one

Have I told you lately that I love you
Have I told you there’s no one else above you
Fill my heart with gladness
Take away all my sadness
Ease my troubles that’s what you do

There’s a love that’s divine
And it’s yours and it’s mine like the sun
And at the end of the day
We should give thanks and pray
To the one, to the one

And have I told you lately that I love you
Have I told you there’s no one else above you
You fill my heart with gladness
Take away my sadness
Ease my troubles that’s what you do
Take away all my sadness
Fill my life with gladness
Ease my troubles that’s what you do
Take away all my sadness
Fill my life with gladness
Ease my troubles that’s what you do

WEDNESDAY 12/19
Adventure: 
Christkindlmarket at Daley Plaza

THURSDAY 12/20
Treat: Bake something yummy together! Perhaps some Flourless Peanutbutter Chocolate Chip Cookies?

FRIDAY 12/21
Adventure: ZooLight at the Lincoln Park Zoo

SATURDAY 12/22
Project: Donate non-perishable food and gently used clothing to our local food pantry Care For Real.

SUNDAY 12/23 
Treat: “You’ll shoot your eye out, kid!” Watch the old classic, A Christmas Story? (My son will love it!)
MONDAY 12/24
Adventure: Ice Skating at Winter Wonderfest at Navy Pier, or the Millennium Park ice rink.
One thought on “Blogging Advent Calendar 2012

  1. Pingback: Advent 2013 |

Leave a Reply

