Balcony Garden 2012 (With Upside Down Tomatoes!)

Last April, I drew up a map of what my garden was going to look like in the spring and summer, and it worked out very well for me! I will be redoing a lot of the same planting configurations this year, including the upside down tomatoes which where so fun and easy! I just took a couple of galvanized pails from Home Depot, drilled a 3 inch wide hole in the bottom, covered the hole with some screen I cut to size then sliced a slit in, threaded a small tomato plant though the screen and hole, added soil, then hung up with some chain from the roof of my balcony. They grew pretty well, even though I planted the tomatoes kind of late.

I will be earlier this year and continue my Mother’s Day planting tradition. The plants I grow in my garden take in the fact that I have an east facing balcony, so the ones I have already tried have loved it there. This year I am adding spinach and radishes for the first time, so we shall see. Here’s my shopping list:

  • 2 tomato plants
  • spinach
  • kale
  • radishes
  • cilantro
  • peppers
  • parsley
  • sage
  • rosemary
  • thyme
  • basil

As far as how it will look, I have come up with a visual wish list of items I would like to add this year, included some bright green astroturf and a fun orange grill. I wanted a smallish grill that cost less than $300 – and the orange is such a bonus. How fun! I can’t wait!

Wish list shopping list:

IKEA STRÅLA Light chain 40 snowballs, outdoor, white $19.99
IKEA ÄPPLARÖ Storage bench, brown $69.99
AMAZON Indoor/Outdoor Green Artificial Grass Turf Area Rug 6’x8′ by Dean Flooring Company $39.99
IKEA SOLVINDEN Solar/wind-powered pendant lamp, white $29.99
HOME DEPOT STOK Island Gas Grill $299.00
IKEA GRENÖ Cushion, checkered, stripe gray $9.99
IKEA GRENÖ Pad, checkered, stripe gray $14.99

EDITED TO ADD: The day after I posted this, this grill was recalled. Wha-wahhhh.

2 thoughts on “Balcony Garden 2012 (With Upside Down Tomatoes!)

Leave a Reply

