Balcony Garden

I generally try to grow a few things on the balcony once the spring Chicago weather starts springing – and have even turned it into my Mother’s Day treat. Plant the summer garden with my son! Last year I got a beautiful outdoor rug. This year, some new patio furniture! (Next year a new grill???)

The thing is, I haven’t been very good about advanced summer garden planning in the past, so I thought I would try to make it a great garden this year by planning it out properly. Here is the plan:


As you can see, there will be four planting stations:

1. The Hanging Station: To save room, and also to give the garden some depth, I thought I would shoot to create an inverse tomato garden, using something like this method.

2. Window Garden: All the most frequently used herbs right next to the window, so that one doesn’t even need to leave the kitchen to pick some fresh ones. (Basil, Rosemary, Parsley)

3. Upper Rail Garden: We love herbs around here, so there will herb over flow here (thyme, oregano, chives and sage) plus a radish and aloe experiment. (I have never attempted these, so should be interesting.)

4. Ground Garden: I have a couple of big pots to use for a leafy garden. This may contain some of the following: lettuce, kale, spinach, chard and/or collard greens. Also – I have to have just a few flowers around to round things out.

This will be fun! I will try to post updates as they get done.

Posted in DIY

Leave a Reply

