Cleaning Arsenal

I am so lucky to have one major extravagance that allows me to keep my working mom sanity: a cleaning crew that comes and cleans my home once in a while. They are brilliant and turn my dust bunny covered world into squeaky clean and shiny floors – led by my saving grace: Grace. I think of myself as a clean-house person by nature, but Grace has really molded my cleaning technique, mostly by steering me towards always having on hand the proper cleaning arsenal. Perhaps it’s not brain surgery for you, but for me – well, let’s just say I needed the proper cleaning product nudge.

So, as to share this list and to collect it here, this is the list of necessities, as molded by Grace:

  • A good vacuum for the rugs
  • An abundance of rags cut from old and tired towels, sheets, cloth.
  • Paper Towels
  • Swiffer Dusters (for those pesky blinds and ceiling fans)
  • Windex
  • Soft Scrub
  • Clorox
  • Pledge
  • Toilet Bowl Cleaner
  • Ajax/Comet
  • Mr. Clean for Floor
  • White Vinegar

And lots of hot water with love.

 

3 thoughts on “Cleaning Arsenal

  1. i’m surprised you and grace haven’t gone more green with your cleaning. i’m using up the last of my bleaches and windexes and going with only vinegar, baking soda, and green dish soaps and other products. i’m freaked out by the bpas and obesogens and chemicals. freaked out!

    and god, i wish i had a grace.

  2. Yep, I totally get that, and the thought made me worry about posting this- but I’m just not ready to forgo the bleach and paper towels. Yet…

  3. Like you I have the occasional cleaning crew come in – thank goodness. I wish they could come every two weeks – but that’s my fantasy. I will say something I’ve picked up from them that has rocked my cleaning world – Microfiber towels. Seriously. And I mean seriously. These things clean anything and make it super shiny with little effort – mirrors, faucets, electronic screens, countertops. I bought a stack of them and I’m pretty much obsessed. Yes. I am obsessed with towels. I should be embarrassed to post this comment!

Leave a Reply

