My Favorite Social Media Outlets

I have a couple of favorite avenues for social media, that I am willing to bet are just the surface options that the majority of folks that dabble in this kind of thing are probably already utilizing. It has me thinking, though: are all of these necessary in my life, and what is each one doing for me? Here’s me trying to figure that out:

Twitter: Designed to update your friends about what you are up to. Is it just me, or is this a silly and unnecessary waste of time? I find that the status update on Facebook work better for me than Twitter. I tried to use Twitter for work promotional purposes, but found I wasted far too much time on uninteresting things and making uninteresting posts. I give up on Twitter for now. Verdict: UNDECIDED

Facebook: Ok. I admit it. I LOVE Facebook. I spend too much time on it, and keep in touch with far too many folks that I should have absolutely lost touch with at some point in my life. However, I have also regained some lost friendships that never should have been lost, find that Farmville fills a void in my life I didn’t know existed, and love the vanity aspect of posting cute things my son says, (“G ate his asparagus and rice-oto (risotto) like a champ this evening.) Verdict: NEED INTERVENTION TO STOP

LinkedIn: A business-oriented social networking site. Every time an acquaintance of my looses a job, or gets worried about their job – it seems that person updates their LinkedIn page. I have spent a fair bit more time than in the past on this site, as the economy has increasing made both of those earlier statements more and more prevalent. Verdict: UNDECIDED

RSS Feeds: RSS stands for Really Simple Syndication.  I don’t know how I lived without this. I have mentioned time and time again that I LOVE blogs. If I had to keep them all under some bookmarked or favorites tab on my browser, and that browser changed at every computer I logged onto – I would just give up. For my ‘Feeds’, I use the free ‘Google Reader’. It collects all new unread blogs that I subscribe to and let’s me organize them. I can read these from my phone, or any computer I want to log onto. It makes me happy. Verdict: HOW DID I EVER LIVE WITHOUT THIS?

Digg: Digg is a social news website made for people to discover and share content from anywhere on the Internet. I haven’t gotten into it much, but I have become a big explorer of the Windy Citizen for my local ‘Digg’. Verdict: STILL EXPERIMENTING

Blog: Post how you feel, pictures, videos, poems, how your day went, ideas you find, things you create… It’s kind of like a diary of ideas that you let other people read. Verdict: SO FAR, IT’S BEEN CATHARTIC AND ENJOYABLE

Hey folks – it’s only 2010. I am sure that in a mere few years, all of this will be ancient history. I hope to keep moving along with it.

Leave a Reply

