40 Before Forty

With my birthday rolling around soon – I have been contemplating my accomplishments and goals. I will turn 40 on April 18, 2014. Inspired by Nicole over at Making it Lovely, I have decided to create my own list of things I would like to do before I turn 40. On my list, I have also included things that I really wanted to happen before 40 that I have already accomplished. It makes me feel better about the things I still need to work on.

  1. Travel as much as possible while I am young.
  2. Finish college.
  3. Marry a man I adore.
  4. Move away from where I grow up, and experience new and different things.
  5. Buy my own house.
  6. Have a child.
  7. Work at a job that I really actually like.
  8. Start a personal blog.
  9. Grow herbs and/or tomatoes every summer. (5/10: plant herbs)
  10. Repaint every room in my condo.
  11. Finally create a bookshelf system for our condo that works.
  12. Eat at Charlie Trotter’s, and at least two other restaurants on this list.
  13. Take a photography class, and learn how to use my SLR camera properly.
  14. Learn CSS or some other programming system.
  15. Take a cooking class.
  16. Get into great physical shape.(2010: Wii Fit, Went G-Free, and lost some weight)
  17. Volunteer for something. (2010: Earth Day Donations)
  18. Have a date night with my husband at least once a month.
  19. Visit these Chicago sites: Willis Tower Observation Deck and the new Modern Wing at the Art Institute.
  20. Take full advantage of every summer in Chicago doing by too much biking, many picnics on the lake, attending street festivals, and going to the Lincoln Park Zoo often.
  21. 2010- Obtain a year long membership to the Shedd Aquarium. Go often, take lots of photos.
  22. 2011- Obtain a year long membership to the Field Museum. Go often, take lots of photos.
  23. 2012- Obtain a year long membership to the Museum of Science and Industry. Go often, take lots of photos.
  24. 2013- Obtain a year long membership to an Art Museum. Go often, take lots of photos.
  25. 2014- Obtain a year long membership to an ??? Museum. Go often, take lots of photos.
  26. Do more yoga.
  27. Eliminate more meat from my diet.
  28. Enroll my son in at least one fun class a year.
  29. Find the perfect school for my son.
  30. Recycle all of my glass and paper products.
  31. Create a list of 40 must read books, then actually read them.
  32. Take a family vacation at least once a year. This includes leaving the city for at least three days or more with my family.
  33. Throw a holiday party every November or December for all of my friends. (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013)
  34. Stay on top of new technology as much as possible. ie OWN AN iPAD. 🙂
  35. Explore Illinois on small weekend car trips.
  36. Think about the transition to a single family home.
  37. Think more seriously about starting my own business.
  38. Evolve this blog and let it grow with me.
  39. Continue to stay in touch with my family via Skype as much as possible.
  40. Continue to try to be the best me I can be.
3 thoughts on “40 Before Forty

  1. I really like this list. My first reaction was “That is cool! I should do that too!’ and then I was like…”Oh, yeah, but does it have to be 40 things? Ugh, maybe I can just list a bunch of crap I’ve already done…oh hey…yeah!…nah…” So, I’m still thinking about it…you know how I hate commitments. Heck, I still have a divorce lawyer and the abortion clinic on speed dial! Just Kidding…no one uses speed dial anymore…they’re programmed into my phone 😉

  2. Okay, so I’m also going to be 40 in 2014! This is an interesting idea – the 40 before 40 list. I’d have to think about mine a bit though, I’m still struggling with the idea that I will actually be 40 someday. But I’d like to see it in the perspective of having a full life and celebrating it – I think your list is in that spirit.

  3. Yes! I’m as freaked out as the next girl that’s on this side of her 30’s is! That’s what this list is about. Wasn’t it the great Madonna who said, “The unexamined life is not worth living.” …. Wait… That WAS Madonna that said that first, right? 😉

Leave a Reply

